Hello... World?

Hello... World?

·

3 min read

The Beggin...

After years of thinking, "crypto is just a big bubble" (the first time I heard about it was in 2017), I decided to learn more about Bitcoin and put some money in. The blockchain concepts got in me. Decentralization, Digital value, and no third party (like banks), were the first ones that caught my attention and made me reflect on our entire traditional system which is completely broken and outdated.

I kept my life normally after understanding bitcoin basics, until around September I heard about this thing called DeFi, which is where everything began.

pepe.PNG

The first protocol I saw was yearn finance, "the cryptocurrency that surpassed bitcoin". YFI token was worth a little over 40k and Bitcoin was around 10k. One more time, I decided to give it a chance and learn more about this.

I got completely overwhelmed by this technology. Mindblowing.

And that's brought me to learn about Ethereum. A globally decentralized computing that executes programs called "smart contracts". What the f*.

I remember that after a day of learning and seeing videos about it, I couldn't sleep. Think about the tremendous possibilities of this thing called EVM and what these "smart contracts" could do in the future.

vitalik-clapping.gif

Over time, everything came naturally. I started to search everything from the basics, borrowing, lending, and trading protocols.

I understood how the DAI works, a crypto-collateralized and algorithmically pegged to $1.

MakerDAO was the first DAO that I saw.

Chainlink, the smart contract oracle that brings external data to the blockchain.

Yield Farming at this time was the most hyped thing to do in DeFi. Good Times.

yieldfarm.PNG

I was so immersive in this world that in 2021 I decided to start learning about building smart contracts. I hadn't any background in programming. But nowadays people changes to software programming, why I can't do it too? So, I started to teach myself the basics of programming, just me, my computer, and a lot of stuff on the internet.

memesol.PNG

When I got comfortable with logic programming, I dove into solidity. Mastering Ethereum was the first book that I took to start writing smart contracts.

I won't lie, was difficult to understand with all the data types, global variables, how to structure a contract, what's ABI, EVM bytecode, and all that stuff.

I believe that if it wasn't for having a solid background in how blockchain works and my daily use of Dapps I would have given up.

solidity meme.png

But I'm still here, still breathing, still hungry to get fully in crypto.

I wasted a lot of time not sharing my knowledge and not getting too much involved with the community. This is all my fault, I'm too shy.

But I'll revert this writing this blog and share some solidity codes, nice practices, some front-end stuff, and maybe a full project.

I'm looking for my fluency in English too, so I hope to improve it in the next posts.

finalmeme.PNG

That's all for today, thanks if you've read this far.

I'll see you in future posts!

Bests, Ian.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Ian Flexa by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!